Home > campaign analysis, experimental marketing > • Ikea continues to play hide and seek with consumers

• Ikea continues to play hide and seek with consumers

While no longer committing vandalism, Ikea still continues to hide from consumers.

On August 9, I wrote about Ikea’s interesting but flawed and illegal attempts to jump on the guerrilla advertising bandwagon (Ikea’s advertising guerrilla ordered to clean up after itself). In it I told how Zig, Ikea’s advertising agency in Canada, cleverly promoted Ikea’s new catalogue and contest through television commercials and urban vandalism. The campaign offered a difficult-to-remember URL, without ever mentioning the company, the catalogue, nor the contest. The only time Ikea’s name came up was through the news media as they reported on the complaints being lodged against Ikea by city officials and small business owners.

Well, the catalogue has come out, and the commercials now mention both it and the company name. It’s progress, of a sort, but the contest is still being kept a secret to all but those who take the time to look up the URL and work their way through the badly-constructed Flash site to which they’re directed.

Now I’ll be the first to admit that my knowledge of advertising costs is peripheral at best, and what I do know is long out of date, but I’d be willing to bet that the commercial cost at least $100 to make. It’s a relatively simple spot, but it also features computer animation, and that isn’t cheap. Maybe they even paid $200. I’ve heard tell that an average commercial can cost $350,000 to make, and $20,000 or more to air. But that can’t be right. I mean, seriously, who would pay that much money for ads that don’t even say who the ad is for?

Exactly — only a moron.

So I assume that their costs came to a few hundred dollars.

Still, even if I only paid a few hundred dollars for a campaign, I think I’d want to mention what I was advertising.

Plus? I’d also try to avoid defacing buildings so that my company didn’t get sued or publicly scolded.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

